Director: Igor Grant, M.D., F.R.C.P. (C)

Igor Grant, M.D., is Distinguished Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine. Since 2000, Dr. Grant has been Director of the State of California funded Center for Medicinal Cannabis Research (CMCR). He is also the Director of the HIV Neurobehavioral Research Program (HNRP), which encompasses a broad range of interdisciplinary HIV studies including the California NeuroAIDS Tissue Network (CNTN), the Translational Methamphetamine AIDS Research Center (TMARC), the HIV Neurobehavioral Research Center (HNRC), and the CNS HIV Antiretroviral Therapy Effects Research (CHARTER). Dr. Grant is the founding Editor of the Journal of the International Neuropsychological Society and founding co-editor of the journal AIDS and Behavior.


Igor Grant, M.D. - Director, Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry
J. Hampton Atkinson, M.D. - Co-Director, Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry
Thomas D. Marcotte, Ph.D. - Co-Director, Professor of Psychiatry 
Jennifer Marquie-Beck, M.P.H. - Director of Research Operations
David Grelotti, M.D. - Medical Director, Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Melanie Sherman - Director of Business Affairs
Clint Cushman - Director of Data Management and Information Systems
Felicia Roston - Project Coordinator
Carla Ingle - Project Coordinator

CMCR Investigators (*Steering Committee Member):

*Ronald J. Ellis, M.D., Ph.D. - Professor of Neurosciences
*Robert Fitzgerald, Ph.D. - Director of Chemistry and Toxicology
*Ji Sun, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
- Director of Pharmacy
*Mark Wallace, M.D. - Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology
Kristin Cadenhead, M.D. - Professor of Psychiatry 
Leanne Chukoskie, Ph.D. - Assistant Researcher of CalIt2
Ziva Cooper, Ph.D. (UCLA), Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Emily Gray, M.D. - Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Brook Henry, Ph.D. - Assistant Reseracher of Psychiatry
Walter Kaye, M.D. - Professor of Psychiatry 
Alysson Muotri, Ph.D. - Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Fatta Nahab, M.D.
William Perry, Ph.D. - Professor of Psychiatry 
Veena Ranganath. M.D. (UCLA) - Associate Professor of Medicine-Rhuematology
Nathaniel Schuster, M.D. - Assistant Clinical Professor ofAnesthesiology
Michelle Sexton, N.D. - Assistant Professor ofAnesthesiology
Gabe Silva, Ph.D. - Professor of Neurosciences

Doris Trauner, M.D. - Professor of Neurosciences
Jared Young, Ph.D. - Associate Professor of Psychiatry

Founding Directors:

Igor Grant, M.D.
Tom Coates, Ph.D.
Andrew Mattison, Ph.D. (Deceased)